TEL NO: 07756 296249/01983 873311


Annual General Meeting

Held on Monday 5th June 2017 at Bembridge Youth and Community Centre from 7:30pm

Present: Theresa Martin (Chairman), Keith Cook (Vice Chairman), Carl Johnston (Treasurer), Diane Portwine (Secretary), Sally Pigot, Bill Bristow, Steve Warburton, Bryan Jones, Tina Bishop and Bryony Davies


Also present: Sarah Portwine, Richard Weaver and Michael Murwill


  1. Opening remarks and welcome – Chairman’s report

Chairman Theresa Martin welcomed everyone to the AGM, introducing Parish Councillor Richard Weaver and IOW Councillor Michael Murwill as new members of the committee, and read the following report:


‘In 2015 we embarked upon our 5 year plan to increase the facilities at the BYCC. We conducted a survey in the local area to ascertain what was needed. We have engaged an architect and are currently looking at the options available to us. We have options for funding in the future but continue to look for different ways of funding this project and would welcome any new ideas.


Our petanque team enjoyed a good season hosting on their terrain, this has become a popular sport and as a result their numbers have increased and we now have two teams. We wish them all the best for the current season as it gets under way. We also have the Bembridge Shotokan Karate Club which continues to be a successful and growing part of the BYCC.


Hall hire for classes is on the increase as is hall hire for private functions. The RNLI use the lounge bar to meet after training every Tuesday night and we appreciate their loyalty. Last year’s main events were Bembridge Summer Festival, Halloween Horror and the Bembridge Christmas event; these were well attended and enjoyed by all. We also had another great New Year’s Eve Party. This year Bryan Jones has organised a trail run to be held in July, we hope this new event will be well attended. We have hired bands over the year and these evenings are becoming better attended all the time as local people are becoming more aware of our function nights. Forthcoming events can be found on our web page or Facebook. We will be sponsoring Bembridge Football Club and Youth Football Club again for the forthcoming season. The CIC and the BYCC have become healthy, growing facilities making a profit over the last year. I am happy to say that I am optimistic and confident about the future based on the progress made and the increasing support from customers.


I would like to thank Steve Warburton for his contribution of prizes for fundraising, Diane Portwine for catering our hall bookings and covering the bar in the absence of the centre manager or to support Sarah on busy nights, Carl Johnston for keeping the accounts up to date, Bryan Jones for organising the trail run and Mike Stilgoe for running 6 classes a week for Bembridge Shotokan Karate Club. I would also like to thank all committee members for their support with their time and contributions and not least our centre manager Sarah Portwine, without whom much of what we have achieved would not be possible.’


  1. Apologies for absence

Parish Councillor Grant Stillman


  1. Approval of AGM minutes 2016

Minutes approved and signed by Chairman


  1. To receive and consider the accounts for the year April 2016 – March 2017

The treasurer has yet to receive the accounts from Klark Phelan but should have them by 14th June when he will email them to all committee members. Money will be transferred from the CIC to the BYCC for administration charges. Estimating that cash in bank will be £500 – £1000 up on last year, PPL still owe BYCC money which the treasurer will pursue. Bryony Davies asked that the turnover for the BYCC be confirmed as less then £25,000 for the year or an independent examination will be required.


  1. CIC Report

Director Steve Warburton presented the following report:

‘As a Director of the CIC I am pleased to present my report on the trading year 2016/17. The bar operated by the CIC has performed as expected and has been overseen by the Manager Sarah Portwine, who along with the Chairman, Treasurer and committee has worked tirelessly to deliver our trading figures for this year.

The CIC continues to achieve its aims, and has provided a vital community role in Bembridge. Providing a professional community centre bar for weddings, private parties and local band nights etc. It has also accommodated both senior and junior football presentation evenings as well as the RNLI crew night. During this year it has also organised some major local events including the Summer Festival and Fireworks Night. It has in total hosted 110 of these events, as well as the bar being open on a further 112 normal trading evenings. We have continued to provide and operate a friendly, affordable option, in an ever-increasing competitive village.

As a Director, I believe we need to focus on the following points for 2017/18:

  • Review our normal trading hours
  • Investigate summer/winter normal trading hours
  • Review our pricing policy
  • Continue to build on the success of private parties and band nights as these bring in nearly as much cash as a major event without the major planning

I look forward to working with everyone involved to secure this vital community asset. I would like to thank Sarah; whose hard work and input is vital and without her we would be lost. I would also like to thank Di for her continued support and dedication throughout the year. Finally, thank you to all the committee and the wider community who help to promote and support this venue.’

  1. Election of officers – Chairman, Vice Chairman, Treasurer and Secretary

All officers stepped down and Sarah Portwine temporarily chaired the meeting.

Theresa Martin resigned from the committee.

Steve Warburton proposed Bill Bristow be elected as Chairman, seconded by Keith Cook.

RESOLVED: Bill Bristow was unanimously elected as Chairman of the BYCC Management Committee.

Diane Portwine proposed Bryony Davies be elected as Vice Chairman, seconded by Carl Johnston.

Steve Warburton proposed Keith Cook be Vice Chairman, seconded by Richard Weaver.

Bryony Davies received 5 votes, Keith Cook received 2 votes, and 3 abstained.

RESOLVED: Bryony Davies was elected as Vice Chairman of the BYCC Management Committee.

Diane Portwine proposed Carl Johnston be elected as Treasurer, seconded by Keith Cook.

RESOLVED: Carl Johnston was elected as Treasurer of the BYCC Management Committee.

Steve Warburton proposed Diane Portwine be elected as Secretary, seconded by Tina Bishop.

RESOLVED: Diane Portwine was elected as Secretary of the BYCC Management Committee.

  1. Election of trustees

Chairman Bill Bristow proposed a block vote to elect trustees of the BYCC management committee, seconded by Diane Portwine.

RESOLVED: Keith Cook, Carl Johnston, Diane Portwine, Bill Bristow, Sally Pigot, Tina Bishop, Steve Warburton, Bryony Davies, Bryan Jones, Richard Weaver and Michael Murwill were unanimously voted in as trustees of the BYCC management committee.

  1. Questions from the public

None received

  1. Date of next AGM

June 2018 – TBC